A journey in ART250 through written, recorded and captured media.

For me, inspiration comes from unlimited sources. From the sound of the wind to the numbers I see on my finance textbook, ideas freely jump in and out of my head. However, different ideas are inspired by different things. For example, if I was thinking of a good grilled cheese recipe, I may have a hard time getting inspired by answering my finance homework. My inspiration for a delicious sandwich may most likely come from going around the grocery store. I believe my way of finding inspiration goes hand in hand with Twyla Tharp’s method of “scratching.”

Tharp considers almost anything as a starting point for an idea whether big or small. She also advises people to improvise to generate ideas more easily, as this may enable the person to free himself from any inhibitions he may have. Of course, Tharp also reminds people to retain, inspect and transform ideas, so they may become concrete actions and works. With Twyla’s “scratching” in mind, I present to you movies, people, books,  events, music and places that have inspired me.

Movies

Memento – Watching this movie when I was just eleven years old astounded me. The story line, the cinematography, the direction, the characters and the style blew my mind as I have never seen any film like it. The creative story telling style of Christopher Nolan is one technique that I think I can borrow. Christopher Nolan’s style kept me interested all throughout the movie as he connects together and intertwines scenes that are understood in a non-chronological way. Of course, I’m not saying that I can copy the style of Christopher Nolan (I would be dreaming if I did). However, what I can take from him is the idea that you can always present something simple in an extraordinary way.

Other movies that have influenced me that can be found in my Inspiration Box include Fight Club, Pulp Fiction and Saving Private Ryan.

People

Ninoy Aquino – A Filipino political leader who I admire for his selfless and courageous acts.

Warren Buffet – A nimble and talented businessman who knows how to share his wealth to those who need it the most.

Alton Brown – One of my favorite food show hosts. He teaches and explains the ins and outs of cooking with ease, expertise and humor.

My family – The people who I love most.

Books

These books are my favorites. They have intrigued my curiosity about myself, the world and anything above and beyond it.

The Boat by Nam Le

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey

Events

People Power 1 (EDSA Revolution)

September 11 – My brother was working for Merrill Lynch at that time. His building is located at the World Trade Center’s complex (one of the six World Trade buildings). Fortunately, he was able to survive this horrific ordeal. I still remember waking up from a call from my mom to watch CNN ten years ago

Music

Blue by Eiffel – The song that made me get into the whole electronica/house/techno genre type of music.

From my Inspiration Box, you can also see some of the music that have influenced my music genre type. 🙂

Places

Boracay, Philippines

Great Wall of China

Sydney Harbour Bridge

Leave a comment